Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Awards 2023!

With Chris Minnoch, CEO of LAPG, and Fiona Bawdon, Founder of the LALY Awards

A massive congratulations to Fiona Bawdon (above right), Chris Minnoch (above left), Matthew Howgate and everyone in the wonderful Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Awards team for delivering yet another spectacular LALY awards night.

Working as a legal aid lawyer can sometimes be extremely challenging, but the LALYs always give Legal Aid lawyers a joyous and celebratory reminder about why we do this work and why it matters.

Friends of LALY

I am so proud to be a Friend of LALY this year, as I have been over many years.

Congratulations again to all the fantastic winners and finalists!!!

Mr Speaker’s Windrush 75 Reception

Thank you so much to Sir Lindsay Hoyle, Speaker of the House of Commons, for inviting me to his Windrush 75 reception in the Speaker’s House.

Sir Lindsay and Baroness Floella Benjamin gave very powerful speeches to celebrate the Windrush Generation AND support Windrush Justice.

It was also wonderful to see so many old (and new!) friends – including Patrick Vernon, Chair of the Windrush 75 Network, and Sunder Katwala, Director of British Future. Congratulations to Patrick and Sunder in particular for their incredible leadership of Windrush 75.